Climbing Wall

Doing a little garage makeover and I plan on building a simple climbing wall. I have a space cleared of about 5' wide x 12' high, and a smaller area of 5'x7'. I picked up two sheets of 3/4" maple plywood (the good stuff without formaldehyde) which gives me 64 sq ft of material. I would like to make a peg board or hangboard/fingerboard if space permits.

My plan is really just make sure everything is secure, and see where the ideas take me.

I've seen there are quite a few avid climbers on the site. I'm a noob when it comes to the sport, but I ordered some holds and hardware off of amazon to get me started (Rocky Mountain Climbing Gear). So any tips/design info/criticism/supply ideas you can offer up, I'm all ears!

Thanks!

ktmrider

I built a 30' X 25' wall for some 21 year old rich kid in mendam a few years ago , it was in his great room . I ordered all the stuff from backcountry.com I will try to find a picture .

clarkenstein

JORBA Board Member/Chapter Leader
JORBA.ORG
i had a garage wall for a while. consider making it relatively steep. or build in the ability to adjust the steepness easily.

to avoid boredom have plenty of holds available. hit up local climbing gyms. a lot of the time they have buckets of holds they no longer use. see if you can snag a few holds out of the left overs.

do yourself a favor and get an allen wrench that is long on BOTH ends. like super long. it will make changing holds/setting routes a lot better.

i opted to not use a sanded surface for two reasons. sometimes you end up with a spinning hold if you have too much texture too close to a t-nut, and it makes for harder smearing, which means stronger climbing. if you can smear on a smooth piece of plywood you can smear on anything.