Car Buying & Price Negotiating via Email - Thoughts? Stories?

ChrisRU

I'm currently haggling with a few internet sales reps from a few different dealers. It seems fairly convenient so far. I haven't stepped foot in a dealership yet and I've got some real numbers in writing.

I'm hoping that I if I land on something I'm happy with, the actual transaction will be pretty painless and will limit the time spent at the dealer. I know that's probably overly optimistic.

Anyone been down this road? How'd it work out? Any good stories to share, pitfalls to look out for?

Paul H

Fearless OOS Poser
I've purchase 3 cars in the last 6-7 yrs so I'm no expert by any means.

Having said that, I've started initial pricing and negotiations via emails but when the dealer came close to the numbers I was looking for, I went into the dealership to show them that I am a serious buyer and not wasting their time.

rlb

I did this in August when we bought a Subaru. We wound up at Ramsey Subaru because they were the most responsive and also had the best price out of other dealers to start. After a little back and forth we settled on a number and went to give a deposit.

I was guarded the whole time at the dealer and through the financial stuff, despite the fact that they reassured me several times they weren't "that kind of dealer". In the end that turned out to be true. All of their numbers matched my calcs and there were no last minute bait and switch type of tactics. I would recommend Ramsey Subaru for anyone looking to get a Subaru.

Pearl

THIS CHANGES EVERYTHING
Crazy to think you can get that far without stepping into a dealership! Keep us updated as we may be buying a new vehicle soon as well. Would love to not spend 6 hours at the dealer because of it.

UtahJoe

Team Workhorse
Team MTBNJ Halter's