Cleaning & Lubing chain

Kaleidopete

I thought I was happy with cleaning with Simple Green bike cleaning fluid and then lubing the chain with bike chain oil. But lately it's really gumming up and needs more frequent cleaning. I stopped at one bike shop that recommended "chain lube cleaner by Finishline". I bought it and used it, seems to clean great but uses just about a whole can per cleaning / lubing, @ $10 a can it's too much. They also said NEVER use simple green bike cleaner on a chain. What else is good?
kerosene ?

w_b

Dawn, hot water, and an old bathtub scrubbrush. Repeat if necessary (usually not.) Dry well with an old towel and re-lube immediately.

I've been using the White Lighning lube for many years; it does not seem to gum up nearly as much as some other lubes.

Karate Monkey

You will get a different answer from every single person that posts in this thread.

That said, here's my answer:

If I decide a chain is filthy enough to clean, off the bike (but somehow not bad enough to just replace), I drop it in a jar of mineral spirits/kerosene, and let it sit for a day. Agitate it once/twice as I'm both around, and remember, then remove it and wipe it down. If someone it paying me to do it, I use whatever they're paying me to use, simple as that.

The above compounds will thin any lubricant you then put on the chain, but as it flashes off, the lubricant will return to its original viscosity.

jShort

2018 Fantasy Football Toilet Bowl Lead Technician
Team MTBNJ Halter's
I use whatever citrus degreaser on a rag and run the chain threw it for a while.
Then re lube.

huffster