Watchung News 12/9/2016

stilluf

I posted this on the NextDoor site, which one was trying to get support against:
There was a Freeholders meeting on Thursday: https://www.tapinto.net/towns/westfield/...

Bridging the KnowledgeGap:
https://www.tapinto.net/towns/westfield/...

Being a UC resident, I am 100% in support of this. The reservation should be available to all to enjoy the nature as they please, regardless by foot, horse or 2 wheels. I do hope people realize there will always be a handful of outliers who choose to break all the rules and do not represent many of the biking community. Shared trails have been in other parks for many years w/o incident around the country.​

The response was:
Watchung Reservation. Learn the meaning of the word reservation. Trees, birds, and wildlife are protected from disruption. Tree roots and then their trees will die from the trails. Mountain bikers compete, race, and should not presume the right to disrupt reservation lands. Respect nature and preserved reservation lands.
I decided to take the high road and not response thou I do think it's funny that people have to resort to attacking.

Thanks for supporting and trying to educate. This notion that b/c the word "reservation" is in the name means nothing should ever be developed is belied by the amount of development: trailside center, stables, extensive hiking and horse trails, deserted village, soccer fields, etc. It really is a red herring.

TheLonerider

"A red herring" is the truth. The reservation saw extensive human interference going back hundreds of years. That said, to nitpick the term, the "reservation" is part of the "county park system" hence it is administered as a park. If u want it to be just a nature preserve then take it out of the park system (and funding). Wanna have new taxes to fund a new entity just to administer it as separate than the parks? Nope, didn't think so!